An Indian Woman's Noisy Ranting

October 23, 2009

Traffic Rules – Jammed!

Filed under: Mishmash — A Noisy Indian Woman @ 9:38 am
Tags: , , , ,

Road is nothing but a simile to life. In both, the powerful dominate the weak and rules are crushed by the former. Bribes and impunity may be looked at as the prime factors corrupting the system. But when looked beyond, it would be revealed that the roots are even deeper. It is the system itself which has to be checked.

The existing rules have become redundant due to big loop holes to which the State has turned a blind eye. We often question whether the rule breakers are charged by the Traffic police. The prime concern I personally have is, why are the public transports not checked for not abiding by the rules? The traffic police don’t hesitate to levy a fine on a speeding car or bike. But even when a government bus hits another vehicle, why is it overlooked?

Last week a government bus hit the front of my car which was actually standing to make way for the bus to move forward. Traffic police who witnessed it, just stood still after throwing a pitiful glance to my side. Though the damage was very little, I decided to question the impolite driver on his action. When I raced my way and stopped the bus in the next stop by parking my car in the front, the driver stood still without even looking to my side. First, he promptly refused that he never hit my car. Again when I questioned him, he denied his own statement and replied saying that only drivers of other vehicles should carefully watch and drive!!! To think of it, I feel it is nothing but power which these drivers feel that makes them drive recklessly without responsibility.

In another incident when a lorry collided with our car where my brother and driver escaped miraculously and the car was crushed completely, my father withdrew his complaint to my surprise. When I asked him why, all he could say was, that the car would remain in the police station for nearly a month [drawbacks in system] and by the time, the case is listened to and we are able to start the work on the car it would be too late. Hence he also stopped me from filing the case on the bus driver who hit my car for by the time justice is served, my car might have rusted. Till date I feel guilty for not taking the driver to court…

When an adult looks down on a small child, he/she obviously knows the other is smaller and hence powerless. Similarly, a bus which is stronger than another vehicle on road is driven with the feeling that the other vehicles ought to watch their way for they’re smaller. Whether bus hits the car or car hits the bus, it is those small vehicles which would be damaged either way. We find buses being driven so rashly and scaring people away whenever they stop in bus stops.

Don’t public transport services have speed limits? When they race through roads crossing the speed limits, scaring people why aren’t they warned? What makes them feel so powerful? I have often wondered the link between this top-down view the bus drivers have and their reckless behaviour. And in more than one occasion, I have felt it is true!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.